# **Firearms Licensing & Reciprocity**

#### **License to Carry a Firearm**

18 Pa.C.S. § 6109(a) - A license to carry a firearm shall be for the purpose of carrying a firearm concealed on or about one's person or in a vehicle throughout this Commonwealth.

An individual who is 21 years of age or older may apply to a sheriff for a license to carry a firearm concealed on or about his person or in a vehicle within this Commonwealth. If the applicant is a resident of this Commonwealth, he shall make application with the sheriff of the county in which he resides.

(Pa.C.S. § 6109 (b))

#### **License to Sell Firearms**

18 Pa.C.S § 6112 - No retail dealer shall sell, or otherwise transfer or expose for sale or transfer, or have in his possession with intent to sell or transfer, any firearm without being licensed.

You will need to bring in person to the Adams County Sheriff's Office a completed application for a License to SELL Firearms. The fee to apply is \$57.00 (payment is to be made by cash, check or money order; to the Sheriff of Adams County). The License to good for three years.

## **License to Sell Precious Metals**

Act 1984-17 - A dealer in precious metals shall obtain a license from the sheriff of each and every county in which the dealer purchases precious metals. You will need to bring in person to the Adams County Sheriff's Office a completed application for a License to SELL Precious Metals. The fee to apply is \$50.00 (payment is to be made by cash, check or money order; to the Treasure of Adams County). The License is good for one year.

## **Firearms Reciprocity Agreements**

When carrying your Pennsylvania issued license in reciprocating states, you must be aware of and follow that state's current firearm law(s). For the most current list of reciprocating states and their laws, see the Pennsylvania Attorney General's website at attorneygeneral.gov. .

## **Firearms Safety**

Citizens who choose to bear the responsibility of carrying a concealed weapon are solely responsible for keeping safety in mind at all times. This includes the safety of yourself and society around you.

You must have your permit and a driver's license on your person when carrying a weapon in these states. When traveling from state to state your weapon must be carried unloaded, separate from ammunition and out of reach of any person. (Preferably in the trunk)

**DO NOT** carry your weapon into any Federal, State, County, Municipal buildings, hearing offices or schoo.1 property

**DO NOT** carry or possess a weapon on any Military Installations.

**DO NOT** carry your weapon when drinking alcohol or into any facility that sells alcohol. Check local regulations before carrying weapons on Federal or State parks.

Any violation of the law may call into question your character and could cause revocation of your permit.

Any careless or improper decision you make while carrying a weapon could result in criminal prosecution or Civil liability.

When you are not carrying your firearm, maintain it in a safe location, unloaded, and out of reach of any children. Ammunition should be stored in a separate location.

If any questions should arise concerning the use of your permit please feel free to contact this office. Common sense would dictate that you should ask the question first before you make a mistake. For the safety of our Law Enforcement Officers and the aversion of situations, please remember these important tips: When dealing with Law Enforcement Officers, always inform the officer immediately that you are carrying a weapon and keep your hands in plain sight.